We encourage you to contact the Mayor and your City Councilmember to let them know why the San José Public Library is essential to ensuring equity of access to information and education. See below for their contact information and some suggestions of what to say.

Not sure what City Council District you live in? Visit the Santa Clara County Registrar of Voters to look it up OR check this handy map.

Thank you for speaking out on behalf of our public libraries!

Mayor – Sam Liccardo | (408) 535-4800 | sam.liccardo@sanjoseca.gov

District 1 – Chappie Jones | (408) 535-4901 | chappie.jones@sanjoseca.gov

District 2 – Sergio Jimenez | (408) 535-4902 | sergio.jimenez@sanjoseca.gov

District 3 – Raul Peralez | (408) 535-4903 | raul.peralez@sanjoseca.gov

District 4 – David Cohen | (408) 535-4904 | david.cohen@sanjoseca.gov

District 5 – Magdalena Carrasco | (408) 535-4905 | magdalena.carrasco@sanjoseca.gov

District 6 – Dev Davis | (408) 535-4906 | dev.davis@sanjoseca.gov

District 7 – Maya Esparza | (408) 535-4907 | maya.esparza@sanjoseca.gov

District 8 – Sylvia Arenas | (408) 535-4908 | sylvia.arenas@sanjoseca.gov

District 9 – Pam Foley | (408) 535-4909 | pam.foley@sanjoseca.gov

District 10 – Matt Mahan | (408) 535-4910 | matt.mahan@sanjoseca.gov

Don’t know what to say?

Use these talking points to guide your comments. Please make it personal and tell your own story about why the Library is essential to you…

  • If local government budgets truly reflect the values of the communities they serve, I believe the City of San José’s budget should prioritize our public libraries.
  • As we continue to navigate an unpredictable pandemic, it is critical that the San José Public Library has the resources it needs to serve our most vulnerable neighbors and build a more equitable, educated, and engaged community.
  • The Library has taken the lead in implementing the City’s Education and Digital Literacy Strategy, which has become even more critical during COVID-19, with tens of thousands of San José residents struggling with distance learning, underemployment, and financial hardship.
  • I appreciate the Mayor and City Council’s continued support and investment in the City’s Digital Inclusion efforts, including community Wi-Fi, hotspot lending programs, expanded broadband connectivity, and digital literacy education.
  • I am also supportive of the Mayor’s call for expanded investments in both the SJ Learns and SJ Aspires programs. However, I am concerned with the use of one-time federal relief funds, with no guarantees that funding will be available in future years.
  • Significant cuts to Library services in the FY2020-2021 budget should be fully restored so that the Library can reopen at full strength, ready to serve the community as we recover from the pandemic.
  • Any further cuts to Library hours, services, and staff will only exacerbate the growing digital divide in San José, which existed before COVID-19 and will continue to persist after it — unless we invest in solutions now.
  • I call on city leaders to fully fund our Library in order to ensure an equity of opportunity for all of our residents.